Roldan Castro, PMPC’s newly elected President with a new set of officers

The pandemic is a great challenge in itself. That’s why leading an organization at this time of the crisis doubles the challenge. Therefore, let us all work together in unity to serve our club’s purpose,” newly elected PMPC president Roldan Castro said.

The PMPC (Philippine Movie Press Club, Inc.) is collective of competent and committed  entertainment 
journalists of newspaper and tabloid film writers, bloggers/vloggers, online influencers and online radio/television reporters in the country.
PMPC acts as an independent award-giving body through the PMPC Star Awards  for  Movies,  the PMPC Star  Awards for Television and the PMPC Star Awards for Music. For almost 40 years,  PMPC has  been renowned  for honoring Filipino artists and its annual Star Awards ceremonies are widely awaited in the showbiz industry.
Adhering to the current health protocol, PMPC had its election casting votes in small batches to accommodate all members. Virtual counting of votes was held immediately after on January 8, 2021, at the club’s office located at Deta Building in Roces Avenue, Quezon City.
After selection and deliberation by top 15 winners, Abante Tonite Editor Roldan Castro was declared 2021 PMPC President. Castro brings with him years of experience as dedicated club member and as entertainment journalist. This is also his third time to serve the club as president. He was president in 2009 and in 2012 prior to serving the club in various capacities in between.
Aside from Castro elected were Fernan de Guzman as Vice President, Mell Navarro as Secretary and Mildred Bacud as Assistant Secretary. Boy Romero was unanimously voted to remain as Treasurer while Lourdes Fabian was chosen as Assistant Treasurer. Comebacking officer John Fontanilla clinched the position for Auditor while Rodel Fernando and Leony Garcia retained their posts as PROs. The 2021 Board of Directors are composed of immediate past President Sandy Mariano, Past President Joe Barrameda, Eric Borromeo, Timmy Basil, Rommel Placente and Francis Simeon. 
Aside from the usual projects, the club is expected to venture on worthy undertakings for the welfare and camaraderie of its members at this time of pandemic. The newly-elected officers are expected to be inducted within the month of January.
Congratulations to Castro and to all the officers!